Working Group

Antimicrobial Resistance Working Group

Terms of reference and membership of the Antimicrobial Resistance Working Group

Last updated: 09 May 2024


To assess the risks to humans from foodborne transmission of antimicrobial-resistant microorganisms and provide advice to the FSA.

Terms of Reference

  • To brief ACMSF on developments in relation to antimicrobial resistance and the food chain and identify evidence that will assist the group in assessing the risks.
  • To review key documents and identify the risks for the UK food chain and relevant aspects of the feed chain in relation to antimicrobial resistance which may have consequences for human health.
  • To comment on progress in understanding the issue of antimicrobial-resistant microorganisms and the food chain since the ACMSF produced its report in 1999 and subsequent reviews in 2005 and 2007, including the relevance of any outstanding recommendations.
  • To highlight key research or surveillance gaps in relation to antimicrobial-resistant microorganisms and the food/feed chain and identify those which are considered a priority.


The group will report back to the main Committee meetings on its discussions and recommendations. This may be an oral update or may take the form of a written paper for more significant issues/discussions.



Professor Bill Keevil


Prof Cath Rees
Dr Rohini Manuel
Dr Nicol Janecko


Co-opted Members

Professor David McDowell
Professor Roberto La Ragione
Professor John Threlfall

Departmental representatives

Dr Stephen Wyllie (Defra)

Dr Tamsin Dewe (VMD)

Ms Connie Longmate (DHSC)

Mr Chris Teale (APHA)

Mr Andy Gardiner (DHSC)

Dr Kathryn Callaghan (FSA)



Summary of minutes May 2021 meeting

Summary of minutes October 2021 meeting

Summary of minutes March 2022 meeting

Summary of minutes July 2022 meeting

Summary of minutes November 2022 meeting

Summary of minutes April 2023 meeting

Summary of minutes September 2023 meeting