Antimicrobial Resistance Working Group

Role

To assess the risks to humans from foodborne transmission of antimicrobialresistant microorganisms and provide advice to the FSA.

Terms of Reference

- To brief ACMSF on developments in relation to antimicrobial resistance and the food chain and identify evidence that will assist the group in assessing the risks.
- To review key documents and identify the risks for the UK food chain and relevant aspects of the feed chain in relation to antimicrobial resistance which may have consequences for human health.
- To comment on progress in understanding the issue of antimicrobialresistant microorganisms and the food chain since the ACMSF produced its report in 1999 and subsequent reviews in 2005 and 2007, including the relevance of any outstanding recommendations.
- To highlight key research or surveillance gaps in relation to antimicrobialresistant microorganisms and the food/feed chain and identify those which are considered a priority.

Outputs

The group will report back to the main Committee meetings on its discussions and recommendations. This may be an oral update or may take the form of a written paper for more significant issues/discussions.

Membership

Chair

Professor Bill Keevil

Members

Prof Cath Rees Dr Rohini Manuel Dr Nicol Janecko

Co-opted Members

Professor David McDowell Professor Roberto La Ragione Professor John Threlfall

Departmental representatives

Dr Stephen Wyllie (Defra)

Dr Tamsin Dewe (VMD)

Ms Connie Longmate (DHSC)

Mr Chris Teale (APHA)

Mr Andy Gardiner (DHSC)

Dr Kathryn Callaghan (FSA)

Meetings

Summary of minutes May 2021 meeting

Summary of minutes October 2021 meeting

Summary of minutes March 2022 meeting

Summary of minutes July 2022 meeting

Summary of minutes November 2022 meeting

Summary of minutes April 2023 meeting

Summary of minutes September 2023 meeting

Summary of minutes January 2024 meeting