Member profile

Professor Bill Keevil

Chair of ACMSF

Last updated: 15 August 2023

Prof  Bill Keevil was appointed as ACMSF Chair in 2019. He is a Professor of Environmental Healthcare and Head of the Microbiology Group, School of Biological Sciences at the University of Southampton. He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology, Royal Society of Biology and Royal Society for Public Health; and Member of the Microbiology Society, Society for Applied Microbiology and American Society for Microbiology.

He was awarded the Colgate Prize in 1985 for his work on sugar uptake and metabolism by dental plaque bacteria and has published over 230 peer-reviewed papers.

Prof Keevil is a Former Head of the Physiology and Biofilms Section, Public Health Laboratory Service, Porton Down, Salisbury and Former Head of the Microbial Technology Department, Microbiology Research Authority CAMR, Porton Down Salisbury.

His previous public appointments include being a Member of the MOD Independent Scientific and Technical Advice Register and a former Expert Advisor to the House of Commons Science and Technology Committee (2003 - 2005).